Local Organising Committee


Chairperson SWAAC ELSO Conference, Chairperson Netcare Unitas ECMO Centre, Anaesthesiologist and Intensivist

Marlice van Dyk

Co-Chair SWAAC ELSO Conference, Assistant Chair Netcare Unitas ECMO Centre, General Surgeon and Intensivist

Norbert Welkovics

Professor, Chair and Head of Department of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine University of Cape Town Health Sciences Faculty Groote Schuur and Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospitals

Justiaan Swanevelder


Marleen Engelbrecht

Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Pieter Scholtz

Cardiothoracic Surgeon

Krubin Naidoo

Consultant Transplant and Critical Care Surgeon

David Thomson

Clinical Technologist - Cardio-Vascular Perfusion

Gerda Harris

Cardiothoracic Recipient Coordinator Transplant, HVAD, ECMO & VHF

Gail Peggs

Meet the Local Organising Committee